A Statement of Academic Concern

WE, the undersigned members of the English faculty, protest the continuing attacks on the professional integrity of Professor Linda Brodkey and other members of the Lower Division English Policy Committee. We take particularly strong exception to Geoff Henley's ungrounded speculations (*Daily Texan*, 10/10/90) about Professor Brodkey and the Committee's motives in proposing the revised syllabus for English 306. We deplore and condemn ad hominem attacks and misrepresentation at the expense of genuine intellectual debate.

President William Cunningham has said that curricular issues are "fundamentally a faculty responsibility." While some of us may have reservations about the new syllabus for E306, we nevertheless reject the efforts of persons outside the English Department and outside the University to interfere with the faculty in the exercise of that responsibility, and we affirm the principle of academic freedom.

Sara E. Kimball
Susan Sage Heinzelman
Wayne Lesser
Rita Copeland
Judith Kroll
David Wallace
Mary Blockley
Wayne A. Rebhorn
Thomas Whitbread
David Wevill

R. Renwick Robert G. Twombly W.B. Worthen Lester Faigley Jerome Bump Ramón Saldivar Alan W. Friedman José E. Limón James L. Kinneavy Stuart Mouithrop).
John M. Slatin
Ernest N. Kaulbach
Evan Carlon
Neil Nehring
Jim Magnuson
Kurl Heinzelman
Jim Ayres
Ann Cvetkovich
Barbara Harlow
J. Moldenhauer

Michael Winship Leah Marcus Jacqueline Henkel Lance Bertelsen Joseph E. Kruppa Linda Ferreira-Buckley Jane Marcus

Lillian S. Robinson Elizabeth Butler-Cullingford